Leaving Arizona!

Everywhere I have been has been a chapter in my life with so many memories. There is always a part of me that is sad to leave but I focus more on being excited for the new chapter and place. Arizona has been a big part of my life and I did cry when I left.

All the other places that I have gone too wasn’t my choosing, I just followed where my dad was going, which I didn’t mind at all but moving to Arizona was my chose. It wasn’t my parent’s idea, I picked to go to Arizona for school. The reason why I picked Arizona was because my professor from community college suggest me to go to a university there because it has a great anthropology program. I looked it up and knew that this was the place for me. The school was amazing and everyone I talked to told me that Arizona was a beautiful place to go to, plus I love the dry heat.

I remember getting accepted and was so excited. My mom and I were sitting on the couch and I was logging into my university account so I could show her how hot my councilor was (He was smoking hot and this was before I got with my husband, hahaha). As I logged in to my account, all of the sudden the page popped up saying that I got accepted. My mom and I celebrated and were so happy I ended up crying for joy. A few days later I got my acceptance letter, which made me even more excited.

Then in the summer of 2015 I packed up my room and had a family road trip from Maryland to Arizona. I was nervous because this was the first time I was leaving my family and just being by myself but it was time for me to move on and be independent. I started classes and have to say that I was so happy that I did community college before I went to university. I feel like it helped me get ready for the harder classes and a bit mature compare to the other students there. I wasn’t the party girl or went out and drink a lot, I worked hard on my classes. I didn’t want to be that student that wasted my parent’s money by failing classes. So I did work on my classes a lot, I got a job at the university library and the tree ring lab. I worked hard to make sure that I could be on my own. Don’t get me wrong I called my mom at least three to five times a day because she is my best friend and I did miss her (and still do).

After a year there I got my own apartment, which to me is a big deal and I couldn’t believe that I did it myself. I also had to deal with a lot of different things that I am surprised that I actually was able to do, such as finding a way to pay for school. This was also the place I got engaged in and found out I was pregnant, Arizona means a lot to me.

Now don’t get me wrong there is a lot of lessons I learned from the mistakes I have done in Arizona, such as friends that I had, and the way I organize my money.  The mistakes I learned from me being on my own has made me the person who I am.

Arizona has been a big part of my life and I am sad to leave it because it is where I decided to be independent. But a new chapter has begun and I am so excited that finally I get to be with husband and have a child in 3 months!!! Honestly I think this is going to be the best adventure yet, here I come Louisiana!!!

Leave a Reply

