My love for BAKING!

I love to bake! Once a week I get this urge to bake and I do! I bake a lot of different things: cakes, muffins, cookies, scones, and so much more. This love for baking came from my mom. My mom had a cake company when I was little and she was amazing at it. For my birthday and my siblings birthdays one thing we always look forward to is our cakes because my mom makes it, they are always good and they look amazing. Her cake decorating skills are really good and I wish I had pictures to show you. Another reason I love to bake is because of Christmas. Christmas is my favorite holiday and the amount of cookies my family makes can feed an army and it is a family event making these cookies. Each one of us gets to make a different cookie and we all work together. It is the best thing in the world and I love that my family can get together, which is how I see baking. It is a way for people to get together whenever I make baked goodies I hand them out at work and to people in my apartment because one I am not going to eat all of them and two it is great to see a smile on people’s faces when I hand them a cookie.

Now of course baking comes with practice, a lot of practice. This one time I was making muffins, and they did not turn out edible. In fact my mom and sister ended up throwing them at each other like snowballs and we had a muffin fight. I did not read the directions right, and I added too much salt. I accidently mixed the ingredients amount between the salt and the sugar. Yup, these muffins were really gross and as hard as a rock. To this day whenever I go home and bake something my mom reminds me of that day and sometimes come into the kitchen to watch me out in the salt into my mixture so I don’t mess it up. I learned and I made some more mistakes, but that is ok. I learn for my mistakes and I try to fix it the next time I bake something.

I think the thing I love about baking is putting all the ingredients together and see if I can make it my own. I love to experiment and mix a couple of different recipes together so that I can have my own recipe. There are some recipes I don’t change because they are my favorite, like the Christmas cookies or cake recipes, but if it a different thing I haven’t made before I like to change it up. Here is how I do it: I get a new recipe and go by the instructions they gave me, then the next time I want to make it I change it up for what I think would make it better for my own taste buds. Here are two recipes that I changed to make them a bit better and I have to say they are really good!!!

20170623_212927

Ultimate Chocolate Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 ½ cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • Dash of milk
  • Your favorite chocolate chips (mine is dark chocolate)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F
  2. Cream together the butter and the sugar
  3. Mix in the egg
  4. Stir in the dry ingredients
  5. Add a dash of milk if the dough looks dry
  6. Add in your chocolate chips
  7. They are meant to be big cookies, so this recipe makes about 10
  8. Put them in the oven for 10-11 minutes *They will look like they are not done when you take them out*
  9. Let cool then enjoy!

Apple Cinnamon Scones

Ingredients:

  • 2 ¾ cups Flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ cup (8 Tablespoons) cold/frozen butter
  • 3 Granny Smith apples
  • 2 Tablespoon butter
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ½ cup apple sauce
  • Milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F
  2. Add all dry ingredients to a mixing bowl
  3. With your butter you want to mash it into the dry ingredient to make it look like crumbs, you do not want to over mix.It is ok to have chunks of butter in the flour.
    1. If you are using frozen butter I like to use a cheese grader and then mix it in the dry ingredients with a spoon.
    2. If the butter is cold from the refrigerator I cut my butter up into cubes and use my fingers to mash it with the dry ingredients.
  4. Chop up the apples put in a separate bowl
  5. Melt butter and add to apples with the cinnamon
  6. Mix apple mixture to dry ingredients
  7. In another bowl add eggs, vanilla and apple sauce
  8. Add egg mixture to the apple mixture
  9. Add some milk of the dough is too dry
  10. Put the dough into a pan. Best kind is a round pan around 8 x 2 inches, but I don’t have that so I use a rectangle glass baking dish.
  11. Flour a knife and cut the desired shape you want your scones
  12. Let it bake for 20-25 minutes
  13. Let cool for 30 minutes and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

