Finding Love

My husband and I have known each other for 5 years now. We met in senior year of high school. In our first semester, we were in speech class together which a class we both hated however was; we did not talk to each other. We really got to know each other at the start of the second semester when we were theater together. There we became friends and I developed this huge crush for him, but he had a girlfriend so we just stayed being friends with thea occasional flirting.

Close to graduation, he was going through a rough time and we ended up being more than friends. I guess the term that we would have called ourselves would be “friends with benefits” but that did not last long. Soon after graduation, I left with my family to Maryland where I attended community college and he stayed in Texas until he went off and joined the Marines.

Soon after, he got out of boot camp and got his phone back for some reason he decided to text me. After that, we ended up texting, calling and skyping each other every other month for the next four years just to check up on each other and see how we were doing. I ended up moving to Arizona and he was stationed in Louisiana. He became my best friend and helped me out through a lot of stuff that was going on in my life, including break ups. We both had two boyfriends/girlfriends while we were talking with each other through out the 4 years and we would talk about how we were doing and what we wanted in life.

During the four years, I can remember my family making fun of me and asking when we were going to get together as a joke. Well, the summer of 2016, we ended up talking and instead of causal talk like we use to do we ended up talking all the time, for a whole month which was something we don’t do. We normally talk for a couple days to a week when we do talk. Now at the time we both knew we were single and we both have mention in the past that maybe we could get together so it felt right to give it a chance. We both tried long distance before and it didn’t work well for both of us. The first couple months I was scared out of my mind that something would happen, not on his end but mine. I was more scared that I was going to mess up our relationship then he was and I really didn’t want to mess this up. I have had a crush on him forever, he has been my best friend and he is a really great guy. But after I meet with him for the first time in November after 4 years it felt so great, it was as if we had been together for years.

After that our relationship went smooth. I have never trusted so much as much as I trust him, I didn’t worry when he said he was going out drinking with friends. Everything was so great and I love him so much. In January was when he asked for my father’s number so that he can ask for his blessing. I get that we had only been going out for 6 months at the time, but we were friends for four years and it felt like we had been together for even longer. It felt right and I was so happy.

We meet up in January where we went to San Diego for his cousins wedding. Now I am going to tell you all that my husband is not romantic at all. When I picked him up at the airport and went to my place. A couple of hours went by and we were on the bed about to watch TV until he get up and says, “Wait I need to get something.” I sit there about to turn on the TV when he gets back on the bed and holds a ring in his hand and says, “Will you marry me?” Of course I said yes and then we watched TV. Yup that is my proposal story, nothing special or romantic but that is my husband and really I am just happy I got a ring.

Now after the San Diego trip I found out I was pregnant which lead to us having to marry earlier than I wanted but it was the right thing to do, for us and the baby. It was a court house wedding with his parents there and my family on skype/phone call. Wasn’t the best but it was better than nothing. I do wish sometimes that we could have the wedding I was starting to plan after he proposed where my parents can actually come too but I’ll learn to deal with it.

Currently we are still long distance and we are about to hit our one year mark of being together. Our relationship has been so crazy that I cannot believe of what we have been through in under a year. There are so many reasons why I love him and it would take forever to try and show him. He is funny and a dork. We are able to talk about anything and it is great to know that he is willing to be with me no matter what. Soon I will be finally living with him (which I cannot wait for) and we can be a family. I love him with all my heart and there is no one I would rather be with!

2 thoughts on “Finding Love

  1. A long distance relationship can be a bummer but I also think it can be a blessing in disguise. My husband and I were also in a long distance relationship while he was in the Navy. If forced us to write letters and talk on the phone (before cell phones or internet). If you have not caught onyou’ll know Robert is very quiet so this became our “courship” and forced him to talk. I think it’s one reason we developed a trust and friendship that goes beyond the usual fun dating courships which sometimes fall apart when things get tough. I am so proud of Andrew for calling ur dad first. We tried hard to teach him to be not only a man but a gentleman and not just follow the crowd.

    Like

Leave a Reply

