As A Military Brat

As a military brat I have lived in 2 counties, 4 states, 14 house, and 2 apartments. I was born on a military base in Germany where my mom was in the Air force and my dad who is still in the Army. They both met in Texas and got married and moved to Germany. Once there they had me! I was there for two years until we moved back to Texas. There my mom got out of the Air force to take care of me and my little sister. Then before we left to Germany again we got a little brother. We were in Germany for 2 years then moved to Washington State and stayed there for 5 years. The next stop was Germany again but only for a short year until we went to Texas again! Only stayed in Texas for a year then moved to Maryland. I ended up leaving there after two years to go to Arizona for University. Now I am currently packing to move to Louisiana so I can be with my Hubby.

It is difficult at times when people come up and ask me where am I from? Normally I just say that I am a military brat and have moved around many places. I take pride in being a military brat. Moving around is a way to support my dad because we want to be there with him. This is his job and if they want him to move we will follow. I also have a lot of people come up and ask me how I feel about moving around and in all honestly I love it! I have been to a lot of places and seen many different cultures that I found it as an adventure every time I move. However I remember the first time I understood that we were moving and I was going to lose all my friends. I was very upset but my mom was the one who helped me out. She taught me that this isn’t an ending, it’s a new beginning and that no matter what, our family will always be there for each other to help us out through the hard times. If it wasn’t for the military, my family wouldn’t be as close as we are now and after that move I started to enjoy moving to different places.

I kind of like to call myself a gypsy sometimes because the idea of settling down is kind of scary. Like I said I love to move so the idea of staying in one place is weird. I mean I would love to have my own house where I can paint and decorate but I have no clue where I want this house. If only I can pick it up and move it from place to place. I think this is where being a military brat has it problems. There is this thing we call the 3 year itch where we want to move every 3 years and I know I have it. I have been moving all my life and I like the idea of going someplace new. My husband has been asking me where I would want to settle down at and in all honesty I have no clue. I really don’t have a place where I call home and I just don’t like the idea of settling down in one place. Something I really need to work on.

Being a military brat has also opened my eyes to the world and given my experiences that not a lot of people have. I have to say if it wasn’t for the military moving my family around I probably wouldn’t want to be an anthologist because I wouldn’t have been able to see so many things around the world. I was born in Germany and moved there two more times. We were able to go around Europe and see different cultures and interact with people and their lifestyles. I love it! I like the idea of trying to step into someone else’s shoes and see how they life and compare it my life style.

Now let me just say that I am 22 years old so I am kind of no longer a military brat but once a military brat always a military brat. However now I upgraded to being military spouse, which is kind of like being a military brat but with more responsibilities. It is kind of like getting promoted in the military if you think about it. I only have been a military spouse for a couple months now but I am excited about it. I get to raise a military brat of my own and support my husband through all the stuff he has to go through. It seems like it will be a lot of work but thank goodness I have my mom to help me out and talk to her and hear what she had to go through.

There is so much more I can talk to about being in the military life but if I tell it all right now what else will have to write about later in other blog post. I love and support the military with all my heart. In a way I feel like I am serving in the military myself just by being there for my father and now my husband. It is a big part of my life and will always be!

Leave a Reply

